TEAM VELOCIO-SRAM – TAYLER WILES

(c) BREAKTHROUGH MEDIA

(c) BREAKTHROUGH MEDIA

Third up in our series of featured playlists with Team Velocio-SRAM is former U23 USA Time Trial Champion Tayler Wiles,

BIO

Like her team-mate Trixi, Tayler initially had a desire to play football. But after finding her way to cycling, she never looked back and is now hooked on the sport. As one of the most promising American riders Tayler is incredibly focused and motivated.

Tayler will move into her third season with the team and each year has developed further and further. Her focus was rewarded in 2014 with her best results to date where she started with a bang by winning Redlands Cycling Classic, and continued by landing her biggest career win, standing on the top step at UCI 1.1 Chrono Gatineau, Canada.

Although growing up in Murray, Utah, Tayler now lives in Fairfax, California. The twenty-five year old has her sights set firmly on Rio Olympics in 2016, and you can be sure to see Tayler, one of the most driven team members, out to impress again next season.

When do you feel the strongest?
When I’m prepared, confident and when I have my team-mates around me.

When was your favourite race and where?
I love the Spring Classics of Flèche Wallone and Flanders. I also did a stage race in Ireland in 2014 called Ras na mban that was absolutely incredible.

Where would you like to spend a week on holiday?
Costa Rica, Bora Bora, The Maldives, or Seychelles.

I can teach you how to….
Make and eat the best cookies EVER!!

 

CAREER HIGHLIGHTS

2015

Winner Women’s Tour of New Zealand, NZ

3rd Chrono de Gatineau, Canada

2014

Winner of Redlands Cycling Classic, USA

Winner of Chrono Gatineau, Canada

2nd general classification Tour Cycliste Feminin International de l’Ardeche, France

3rd Borsele time trial, Netherlands

2012

3rd general classification Tour Cycliste Feminin International de l’Ardeche, France

2011

U23 USA National Time Trial Champion

TAYLER’S SONG CHOICES

Brandi Carlile: Wherever is your heart – with all the time I spend away from home and away from the people I love, this song reminds me that the distance isn’t defining. 

Brandi Carlile: Blood muscle skin and bone – I like to dance alone to this song like a crazy person and pretend to play the cowbell, haha! 

Citizen Cope: Bullet and a target – I just love all the messages in his music.

Coldplay: Sky full of stars – I used to listen to the Coldplay album Viva la Vida over and over on rides when I got my first bike.  Ever since then Coldplay will always remind me of that feeling of finding something I loved and how freeing those first few rides felt! 

Dave Matthews Band: American baby – I’ve just always loved this song, I guess because I’m American…baby! 😉

Indigo Girls: Galileo & Kid Fears – This song reminds me of going skiing with my Dad when I was younger.

Florence + the Machine:  Ship to Wreck; Queen of Peace; Third Eye; & Make Up Your Mind – scratch that, I should just say this entire album (How big how blue how beautiful) because it is absolutely incredible…great album to belt out on the car or shower 😉

Frightened Rabbit: Things – this song reminds me of a time in my life where I had to let go.

Mumford and Sons: Snake Eyes – this is a great little hidden gem on the new Mumford and Sons Album.  Starts out sounding like a slow battle and then it picks up and you can’t help but sing along.

Tegan and Sara: Closer – this is just a fun song to dance to.

TAYLER WILES

BIRTHDATE: 20 JULY 1989

BIRTHPLACE: UNITED STATES

@TaylerWiles

(C) BRAKETHROUGH MEDIA

(C) BRAKETHROUGH MEDIA

(C) BRIAN HODES

(C) BRIAN HODES